Home forums vendorsarticles

Go Back   Chevy Truck Forum | GMC Truck Forum - GmFullsize.com > Modification > Exterior

Sponsored Links
Register to remove these ads.



Exterior Paint, wheels, lighting, etc.


User Tag List

Sponsored By: Spencer's HIDs
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2008, 10:48 AM   #1
brian thomas
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: iowa
Name: brian
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default TPMS Reprogram

I have an '08 GMC Yukon with no owners manual. I put a set of rims and tires from another '08 along with the correct part number tire pressure sensors but don't know how to program them. Do any of you have the proceedure or can steer me to it?


















brian thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 04:16 PM   #2
MeanGreenZ71
is Bi-Winning and a
GMC Owner
 
MeanGreenZ71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NC
Name: Nick
Age: 24
Posts: 8,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

Maybe this thread will help. TPMS THREAD

If not, try searching for TPMS...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beatdown Z View Post
Meangreen FTW!

'95 Sierra
'09 G8 GT
'89 Mustang
'06 CBR600F4i
MeanGreenZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 04:34 PM   #3
JB
2008 RCSB
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: usa
Name: JB
Posts: 9,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

First...go to each wheel and remove the valve stem caps, your gonna have to move fast between tires so any prep work you can do will help you during the process.
Get a tool that you can use to let some air out of the stems.

1) Set parking brake
2) turn key to on but DO NOT start.
3) take remote and press lock and unlock at the same time till the horn honks.
4) go to driver side front and let air out (approx 5-15sec) till horn honks once.
5) go to pass side front and let air out (approx 5-15sec) till horn honks once.
6) go to pass side rear and let air out (approx 5-15sec) till horn honks once.
7) go to drivers side rear and let air out (approx 5-15sec) till horn honks TWICE.
8) now they are programmed
9) recheck air pressure and set to whatever you need.
10) re-install valve stem caps.

There is a way to do the relearn thru your DIC on the dash if you have that.

Search ebay and buy yourself a manual.

BTW....Please reply and tell us if this works
JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 05:04 PM   #4
dwalton31
GMFS Member
 
dwalton31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN formerly Groves, TX
Name: Derek
Age: 36
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

Quote:
Originally Posted by JB View Post

.........There is a way to do the relearn thru your DIC on the dash if you have that.

Anyone else have any info about doing it with your DIC ?? Wait, that didn't sound right, but really, is there a way to do this?
__________________

Thanks to Lusso22 for the sig
'04 Silverado ex-cab ** SOLD **
'05 Pontiac GTO
'08 GMC Sierra Crew 4X4 **SOLD**
'99 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 2dr
'01 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4
dwalton31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 06:09 PM   #5
BroheimDesigns
GMFS Bro-Runner
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corcoran, CA
Age: 28
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

I have a programing tool @ work so i dont have to mess with the inflating/deflating
__________________
<Sisco's Fabrication> <Crab-Fab> <FullThrottleSuspension> <Graphic Glass> <A'Z Auto Parts> <Richard's Chevrolet> <Borba's AutoBody>
BroheimDesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 06:57 PM   #6
JB
2008 RCSB
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: usa
Name: JB
Posts: 9,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwalton31 View Post
Anyone else have any info about doing it with your DIC ?? Wait, that didn't sound right, but really, is there a way to do this?
Its all in your manual, look under relearn tpms

but seriously...the steps I gave take me maybe 60sec max...dont it at least 10 times on mine and friends trucks
JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 05:35 AM   #7
dwalton31
GMFS Member
 
dwalton31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN formerly Groves, TX
Name: Derek
Age: 36
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

Quote:
Originally Posted by JB View Post
Its all in your manual, look under relearn tpms

but seriously...the steps I gave take me maybe 60sec max...dont it at least 10 times on mine and friends trucks

Yeah, I remember reading about setting the system into learn mode with the DIC, but you still had to either inflate or deflate in a specific order for the system to recognize where each TPM was. I'll pull the manual back out and take another look. But your right, it sounds pretty easy once the system is ready to learn. Thanks JB
__________________

Thanks to Lusso22 for the sig
'04 Silverado ex-cab ** SOLD **
'05 Pontiac GTO
'08 GMC Sierra Crew 4X4 **SOLD**
'99 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 2dr
'01 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4
dwalton31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:08 PM   #8
Silverado MAX
Yea its all black....
 
Silverado MAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Flo-rida
Name: Brad Jones
Age: 32
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

i've done it with mine through the dash. there is a learn mode where the truck will search for the new sensors one by one while you sit in the truck. hope this helps
__________________
|2007 Silverado MAX 6.0 L | 2.5" TGC | Custom Tune | OBX LT Headers | Magnaflow|
|K&N CAI | BMF | Nitto | Katskin | Line-X | Train Horn | Backup Camera | TRUCool 40k|
Silverado MAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:12 PM   #9
SamCarroll
Fender Measurements?
 
SamCarroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: BRO-CAL
Name: Sam
Age: 27
Posts: 20,810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

i really need to get TPMS sensors in my truck
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BAD94
YOUR TRUCK IS MADE OF CABINETS
SamCarroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:50 PM   #10
Silverado MAX
Yea its all black....
 
Silverado MAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Flo-rida
Name: Brad Jones
Age: 32
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Re: TPMS Reprogram

Sam, I got some off e-bay for a $100. That was for the sensors only, I already had the valve stems, it may be a little more with those.... Getting tired of the warning every time you crank your truck up huh? Yeah I got tired of it real quick, had to get the sensors.
__________________
|2007 Silverado MAX 6.0 L | 2.5" TGC | Custom Tune | OBX LT Headers | Magnaflow|
|K&N CAI | BMF | Nitto | Katskin | Line-X | Train Horn | Backup Camera | TRUCool 40k|
Silverado MAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




Forum Jump






Dodge Ram Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum
Softball Forum

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.



Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2004 - 2013 GMFullsize.comAd Management plugin by RedTyger